Lincoln County To Remain in Region 7-A

December 06, 2011

The GHSA has released its preliminary region assignments for the 2012-13 and 2013-14 schools years, with our Red Devils remaining in Region 7-A.

Most regions are shown separated into two subregions. Some will play a full region schedule in football, and subregion schedule in other sports, to reduce travel. Lincoln County is in 7-A subregion A with Aquinas, Glascock County, Hancock Central, Taliaferro County, and Warren County. Subregion B in 7-A includes Challenge Charter, First Presbyterian, GMC, Georgia Academy for the Blind, Twiggs County, and Wilkinson County. The only football-playing school new to 7-A is First Presbyterian, a private Macon school that switched from the GISA two years ago.

Most Class A regions remain the same, except some schools moved to AA with the lowered breakpoint due to having six classes.

PDF showing all region assignments

Washington-Wilkes will be one of the smallest schools in Class AA, playing in Region 8 with Greene County, Oglethorpe County, Social Circle, Jefferson, Rabun County, Riverside Military, and Union County. Bremen and Bowdon, familiar Class A names, also move up to AA along with Wesleyan. Harlem, Laney, Westside-Augusta, and Josey will play in 3-AA along with Dublin.

Thomson, Jefferson County, and Washington County will play in 3-AAA. Burke County, Butler, Cross Creek, Glenn Hills, Hephzibah, and Richmond Academy will play in 3-AAAA with Statesboro.

Evans, Greenbrier, Grovetown, and Lakeside will play in Region 2-AAAAA with Northside Warner Robins and Warner Robins.