Red Devils vs. Johnson County / Wrightsville

Record in 26 meetings: 21-4-1

Winning Percentage: 82.692
Total scored: 724
Total allowed: 265
Average game: 27.85-10.19
Shutouts by Red Devils: 7
Shutouts by opponents: 1
Click Coach for all games by that coach.
Click Year for that season's full details.
Click [more] for more info on that game.
Sat, Sep 30, 1950Martin, EddieW13-6T[more]
Dan Pitts: 90 yd run; first year W had team - played in "rags"
Fri, Sep 28, 1951Martin, EddieL0-40T[more]
Fri, Oct 31, 1952Chambers, RalphT13-13T[more]
Fri, Oct 30, 1953Chambers, RalphW14-13H[more]
Fri, Oct 17, 1958Bufford, BuddyW34-20T[more]
Fri, Oct 9, 1959Bufford, BuddyL7-26H[more]
Wrightsville region champ
Fri, Sep 9, 1960Bufford, BuddyW27-6T[more]
First season w/scoreboard clock (Booster Club $1,500 + sponsors)
Fri, Sep 8, 1961Bunch, ThomasW42-7H[more]
Fri, Oct 12, 1962Bunch, ThomasW33-0T[more]
Fri, Oct 18, 1963Bunch, ThomasW55-0H[more]
Fri, Nov 6, 1964Bunch, ThomasW41-6T[more]
L 400yds offense
Fri, Nov 5, 1965Bunch, ThomasW39-0H[more]
34th straight home win w/one tie
Fri, Sep 4, 1970Bunch, ThomasW18-0H[more]
LHS & Westside integrated to become LCHS
Fri, Sep 3, 1971Bunch, ThomasW20-6T[more]
Fri, Nov 24, 1989Campbell, LarryW27-3H[more]
Campbell #200 in 18 yrs; JC 9-2, led 3-0 at half; GH 4 TD
Fri, Sep 14, 1990Campbell, LarryW14-0T[more]
Fri, Sep 13, 1991Campbell, LarryW33-6H[more]
JC scored on 40y fumble rtrn, had 10y rushing
Sat, Dec 18, 1993Campbell, LarryW24-14H[more]
JC 14-0, beat #2 Macon Co (12-0) 19-14 in 1st round, Telfair Co. (13-0) 16-9 in qtrfinals, and Brookstone 33-14 in semis. First finals for JC since Herschel Walker played in 1979. LC jumped out to early lead.
Fri, Oct 7, 1994Campbell, LarryL13-25T[more]
First road loss since 12/84 (54 games); rematch of '93 finals. JC fumble return for TD ended LC chances; Campbell's first-ever loss to Class A team during regular season. First time since '75 that LC had consec non-winning games during regular season.
Fri, Nov 18, 1994Campbell, LarryW28-20H[more]
J had lost to ECI to finish 2nd in 4-A South.
Fri, Oct 6, 1995Campbell, LarryW47-6H[more]
Fri, Nov 1, 1996Campbell, LarryW41-13H[more]
Fri, Oct 31, 1997Campbell, LarryW32-0T[more]
Fri, Nov 1, 2002Campbell, LarryL13-14H[more]
Devils lost 4 fumbles and interception; Johnson scored on two short drives after Devils fumbled inside 25; later LC fumbled inside JC 5 and threw interception with minute remaining after 1st&10 at JC15.
Fri, Oct 31, 2003Campbell, LarryW48-0T[more]
Steven Brown caught 3 TD passes, Travis Clark passed for 3 TD passes to lead Devils to win as their top 3 running backs out with injuries.
Fri, Nov 25, 2005Campbell, LarryW48-21T[more]
The final score may be a bit deceiving as the game wasn't put out of reach until the Devils scored with 5:47 left to go 41-21. LC took a 7-0 lead on their first possession, but Johnson scored on two long passes (including one tipped by LC) to take a 14-7 lead just into the 2nd quarter. Big Red didn't flinch, coming back for a 29-14 halftime lead after a 56-yard punt return by Rontae Norman and a fumble recovery that led to a TD. The Trojans returned the 2nd half kickoff 80 yards to cut the lead to 8. On 1st-&-30 at the LC 15, Shawntavius Jennings broke through and outran the defense to the endzone. LC added 2 TDs in the fourth to clinch their 21st semifinal win. Kickoff time in the dome was 3:36, as the Devils played the third of a 5-game schedule.